jump to navigation

Five Winter Premieres I’m Most Desperately Looking Forward To: #3 Burn Notice January 8, 2009

Posted by Amy Yen in Burn Notice, In Plain Sight, TV.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

In anticipation of the end of the winter TV hiatus, I’m counting down the 5 Winter Premieres I Am Most Desperately Looking Forward To.

For a more complete list of winter premiere dates, see Kristen Dos Santos’ comprehensive list on E! Online.

#3 Burn Notice

Premieres Thursday, January 22 @10pm on USA

More than any other show on TV, Burn Notice is a summer show. I don’t think it’s really not that smart a move for USA to cut the season in half. But nonetheless, I can’t say I’m not thrilled that we’ll be getting fresh episodes this month.

Interestingly, I wasn’t actually watching Burn Notice when I realized it was not just a nice distraction from the summer TV hiatus, but actually a great show. I was watching In Plain Sight, another quirky crime-related drama on USA. The reason I thought of Burn Notice when I was watching it is I kept thinking, if only this show had some decent writing. It could be so much better. And if you think about it, Burn Notice & In Plain Sight are not so different. It’s not like Burn Notice is more complex & deep, or even that the acting is better (although I do prefer Jeffrey Donovan‘s unbelievably cool smile & Bruce Campbell‘s laid back charm to irritable, exasperating Mary McCormack or anyone else on IPS besides maybe Frederick Weller‘s dorkily awesome Marshall Mann). It comes down to the writing & Burn Notice’s writing is much, much better. In fact, it’s more clever, more witty than a lot of what’s on network TV as well. I can’t wait for it to come back.

Stay tuned for the rest of my winter season preview & drop me a comment to let me know what new & returning shows you’re looking forward to most.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

