jump to navigation

This Week, Give $5 to Someone Besides Starbucks November 17, 2008

Posted by Amy Yen in Social Media.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

51Hey, I love Starbucks too, so I really don’t mean to belittle your need for a daily caramel Frappachino. However, this Friday, I will ask everyone who visits my blog to please donate $5 to a great cause instead. As you might know, my ASL colleague & friend, Amanda Mooney, started the $5 Friday Twitter Challenge several weeks ago. Each Friday, we ask the Twitter community (and all of you) to donate $5 to a cause that one of our fellow participants is most passionate about. Check out what happened on our first week.

This Friday is my cause & I really hope to be able to do something very cool. My cause is the Lance Armstrong Foundation, which helps people affected by cancer live strong. If you know me, you know it’s laftoplogobecause LAF was my first PR internship. It was the only job I’ve ever taken that was unpaid & it was the one I loved the most. Part of my job was to read & respond to letters—the most meaningful of fanmail. Some of the letter were to Lance, talking about how he’d inspired them to get through their own battle with cancer or with their own private struggles. Some were to the Foundation, from people who’d been helped by what they do. Some were just people sharing their own stories, like Lance shared his. Let’s just say I spent a lot of time weeping in the intern room.

My grandfather died of stomach cancer. I didn’t know him that well (he stayed in Taiwan & we just didn’t see him much once we moved to America), so I don’t really know if I have the right to say I wear my yellow livestrong_wristbandLiveStrong wristband for him. But I do still wear it. I haven’t stopped wearing it since I got it on the first day of my internship, back in summer of 2004. And I don’t plan on taking it off.

The LAF has always been my favorite non-profit because I think it’s rare to truly know, to actually see, the difference you can make, at a job, or with the money you could spend on your morning coffee.

You can donate your $5 (or whatever you want to give) here:
http://www.livestrong.org/
grassroots2008/
twitterchallenge

Drop me a line if you donate, so I know who you are. You are appreciated more than you know. If you want to keep up with our $5 Twitter Challenge, join the Facebook group. Thanks again for your generosity.

Comments»

1. Lance Armstrong Foundation - November 18, 2008

On behalf of the LAF we thank you so much for your awesome fundraiser and for your internship. We truly appreciate your support!

2. Leana - November 18, 2008

Great idea! You couldn’t have started with a better organization. LiveStrong!


Leave a Reply

