jump to navigation

Ad Post: Ryan Miller Amp Energy Drink January 2, 2008

Posted by Amy in advertising.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I love ads. I’m in marketing, so I’m supposed to pay attention, but I would anyway. I think ads can be just as entertaining as the content they support. Occassionally, you’ll get one so great, it makes you stop to watch it, no matter how many times you’ve seen it before.

Since I saw a particularly good spot yesterday, I thought I’d start sharing ads I really like. You might have caught this during the NHL Winter Classic yesterday:

Amp Energy Drink :30 spot
Agency: TracyLocke Dallas
Featuring Ryan Miller of the Buffalo Sabres & Jean-Sebastien Aubin of the LA Kings

These days, it’s particularly rare to see NHL players featured in a national spot that isn’t actually for the NHL (or, for that matter, one that is, since the league still hasn’t figured out that the best way to reach a new audience is to advertise outside of NHL broadcasts). So I was particularly pleased with this spot for Amp Energy. It’s fun, different & showcases one of the young stars of the league in Ryan Miller.

Granted, Aubin was an odd choice as the second player. I’m wondering if it was a default choice because of shooting schedules. It would have been a nice opportunity to feature someone like Marty Turco or Henrik Lundqvist, two of the more visible goalies in the league. But it didn’t really matter because Aubin did a fine job (his little “darn” move when Miller gets him was a nice bit of acting) & the spot was really all about Miller anyway.

There’s just something very funny about players in full hockey gear out of the hockey environment. Nice job by Amp to take advantage of the opportunity (they were also presenting sponsor of the Winter Classic). I hope to see the NHL push more of their stars into mainstream promotions.

Comments»

1. Jefff - April 25, 2008

It’s one of my favorite commercials. What language is Miller speaking when he wins the competition?

2. Amy Yen - April 26, 2008

I believe it’s Chinese. I speak Mandarin & I recognize the first half of the sentence. The second half is too garbled to understand, but it’s pretty impressive he learned it. Love seeing that ad during the playoffs also. 🙂


Leave a Reply

